Planning Board

Planning Board Members

Members of the Planning Board are appointed by the Town Board for terms of seven years.  The Board consists of seven members and one alternate member.  Members must be residents of the Town of Ithaca and are required to obtain at least 4 hours of training each year.

(More information about the Planning Board

Liebe Meier Swain-Chair
Term Expires: 12/31/28
Fred Wilcox
Term Expires: 12/31/23
Yvonne Fogarty
Term Expires: 12/31/25
Elizabeth Bageant
Term Expires: 12/31/27
Cindy Kaufman
Term Expires: 12/31/24
Gregory Lindquist
Term Expires: 12/31/22
Ariel Casper
Term Expires: 12/31/26
Alternate: William Arms
Term Expires: 12/31/22


Useful Links

Planning Board Forms and Submittal Requirements – provides various application forms and checklists.

Town Planning Department – provides staff contact information, informational brochures on site plan and subdivision review processes, maps, and other useful information and links. 

Public Meetings

The Town of Ithaca Planning Board meets the first and third Tuesday of the month at 7:00 pm in the Board Room of the Ithaca Town Hall, at 215 N. Tioga Street, Ithaca, NY  14850.  Meeting dates are subject to change.  Please see the Town Meeting Calendar for the most up to date information.  

Agendas with Planning Board meeting materials & Minutes

Agendas with Planning Board meeting materials are available on this website or by email request approximately a week before the meeting. Paper copies can also be viewed or obtained at the Ithaca Town Hall (printing costs may apply).  Minutes are available following their approval by the Board.


The Planning Board is responsible for the following:
  • Considering application requests for the subdivision of land
  • Considering application requests for site plans
  • Considering special use permits
  • Conducting environmental reviews and making determinations on the significance of the above listed application requests, per NY State Environmental Quality Review Act
  • Making recommendations to the Town Board on proposed legislation, plans or other initiatives involving land use and/or planning.